Can anyone turn this blogger-hater around?

10Oct08

So I just told some friends that I started a blog and worked on it most every night between midnight and 2 a.m.  I asked for their thoughts.  I heard lots of positive feedback, some suggestions, and the following comment written by a friend who is a top copywriter, creative director, screenwriter — a very talented guy.  But here’s what he said about blogging:  

 

When I was, I don’t know, 19 or 20? We had a great alternative to sleeping, too. And come to think of it, we may have called it blogging. There were so many names for it.

I really have no interest in blogs. That said, yours is put together fairly nicely. But they all read like an inside joke. And I just don’t care. Particularly in a blog about blogging. For someone who doesn’t give a rat’s patoot about blogs in the first place, it’s a bit like watching someone try to pull his upper lip over his head.

The quote that you opened your blog with, by the way, sounded to me like it was penned at a coffee house in Amsterdam by a Scientologist.

Sorry if I seem out of touch or incurious. I don’t read blogs. On the other hand, I am currently reading “The Charterhouse of Parma,” by Stendahl. And just finished “La Bete Humanine,” by Emile Zola. Arguably the world’s first social media-ist.

I’m more of a purist.

So, what do you think?  Is there anyone who has something to say to turn this blogger-hater into a lover?  Or is it hopeless.  Please help!

No Responses Yet to “Can anyone turn this blogger-hater around?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

